Knowledge Communities

Get Involved! Committees are always looking for fresh ideas, and extra hands make the load light. Contact the chair of the committee you are interested in joining.

Allied Members Committee

Chair:
Jackie Browning
American Cedar & Millwork
jbrowning@millwork1.com 

Extends the spectrum of membership to those in allied professions and services, and reinforces collaboration between AIABaltimore and allied professional organizations. Meets every 2nd Thursday at 8:30 am at various member firm offices.

ART/ARE Preparation

Chair:
Judson Hornfeck, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP
Design Collective, Inc.
410.332.1009, jhornfeck@gmail.com

Implements architectural registration exam preparation, the Achieving Registration Together (A.R.T) program.

Building Enclosure Council – Baltimore

Co-Chairs:
Dan Mckelvey, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Ayers Saint Gross
dmckelvey@asg-architects.com

Kevin Day
Living Design Lab
kday@livingdesignlab.com

Works in cooperation with the National Institute of Science and Technology Building Enclosure Council to bring together building professionals for the purpose of sharing ideas about building design/science. Meets monthly, typically at Morgan State University, CBEIS.

Committee on Architecture for Education (CAE)

Co-Chairs:
Scott Walters, AIA
Hord Coplan Macht
swalters@hcm2.com

Michael Archbold, AIA
Baltimore County Public Schools
marchbold@bcps.org

CAE is a forum for the exploration, discussion, and dissemination of ideas on education facilities. CAE strives to bring together diverse stakeholders interested in creating, building and implementing great learning environments. Meets every 4th Wednesday at 8:30 am at the AIABaltimore Gallery.

CANstruction

Co-Chairs:
Kristen Ambrose, AIA, LEED AP
Ayers Saint Gross
kambrose@asg-architects.com

Denise Khoury, LEED AP
MechoSystems
denisek@mechoshade.com

Coordinates CANstruction events twice yearly, in conjunction with Baltimore Architecture Foundation and AIABaltimore Firms, Allied Members, Emerging Professionals, Future Architects Resources Committee, and local architecture schools. Meets periodically.

Chapter House

Chair:
Alan Reed, AIA
GWWO Architects
areed@gwwoinc.com

A working group led by AIABaltimore Past Presidents to assess the potential acquisition of a new AIABaltimore Chapter Headquarters / Center for Architecture to advance our mission to serve the profession and promote the value of architecture to the public. Meets periodically.

Committee on the Environment and Resiliency (COTE | R)

Rudy Schaar, AIA
Whitman Requardt & Associates
rschaar@wrallp.com

Dustin Watson, AIA
inPlace Design
dwatson@inplace-design.com 

Social Media: Facebook

Promotes awareness of environmental issues and provides architects with an educational source for sustainable design. The Resiliency subcommittee is dedicated to educating, promoting and implementing programs that help prepare for, respond to, and recover from disasters within our design community and the community at large. Meets every 4th Tuesday at 6 pm at various locations.

Communications

Nathan Dennies
AIABaltimore
ndennies@aiabalt.com

Enhances the image of the architect and educates the general public by facilitating participation in the various forms of communication media (including print and electronic newsletter, website, and social media), and promoting involvement in civic activities.

Design Awards

Co-Chairs:
Marty Marren, AIA
Marren Architects
marty@marrenarchitects.com

Eric Lowe, AIA
Design Collective Inc.
elowe@designcollective.com

Meets every 2nd Wednesday at 8:15 am at AIABaltimore Board Room.

Design Awards Traveling Exhibit

Chair:
Zevi Thomas, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP+ND
AIABaltimore
zthomas@aiabalt.com

Organizes an exhibit of Design Awards winners that travels around the Baltimore region. Meets periodically.

Doors Open Baltimore

Chair:
Victoria Kraushar-Plantholt, AIA
Brasher Design
victoriakkp@gmail.com

Social Media: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Organizes the annual Doors Open Baltimore, a 1-day city-wide event opening doors to the public on Baltimore Architecture. Meets every 2nd Tuesday at the AIABaltimore Chapter House.

Emerging Professionals Committee

Co-Chairs:
William Lockwood, AIA
AECOM
lockwood83@gmail.com

Trey Shamer, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Sanders | Designs
treys@marks-thomas.com

Social Media: Facebook | Instagram

Implements programs to serve Emerging Professionals, including mentorship, networking, and professional licensure preparation and education through the Achieving Registration Together (A.R.T.) program. Meets every 1st Monday at 6.p.m. at AIABaltimore Gallery.

Equity

Co-Chairs:
Alice Brooks, AIA
Ayers Saint Gross
abrooks@asg-architects.com

Lori Lessem, AIA
L2 Design Studio
llessem@l2designstudio.net

Social Media: Facebook

The Equity Committee of AIA Baltimore seeks to promote an inclusive environment for all design professionals. We celebrate diverse backgrounds, perspectives, and achievements by providing networking opportunities, a platform for change, and a forum for mentorship and personal and career development.

Fellows

Chair:
Ed Hord, FAIA
Hord Coplan Macht, Inc.
edhord@hcm2.com

Provides support for nominees to the AIA College of Fellows. Meets periodically.

Future Architect Resources (FAR)

Co-Chairs:
Melissa Rodriguez de Jesus, Assoc. AIA
Design Collective
mrodriguez@designcollective.com

Camessia Johnson, Assoc. AIA
BCT Architects
camessiaj@bctarchitects.com 

Social Media: Instagram | Tumblr

The FAR Committee serves as a vehicle for collaboration among professionals and educators (universities, community colleges, middle and secondary schools) towards the education of future architects. Meets every 2nd Wednesday at 5:30 pm in the AIABaltimore Gallery.

Gallery Exhibits

Chair:
Zevi Thomas, Assoc. AIA, Programs and Outreach Associate
AIABaltimore
zthomas@aiabalt.com

Recruits and guides exhibitors for the AIABaltimore Gallery. Meets periodically.

Golf Outing

Co-Chairs:
Erik Baiamonte, AIA, LEED BD+C
Ammon Heisler Sachs Architects
ebaiamonte@ahsarch.com

Christine Simeone
Kohler
christine.simeone@kohler.com

Organizes AIABaltimore’s Annual Golf Outing. Meets seasonally.

Health & Wellness Design

Co-Chairs:
David S. Watts, AIA
MCA Architecture
DWatts@mca.design

Heather Rustici
Jeffrey Brown Contracting, LLC
hrustici@jbc.bz

Designs and implements programs to advance health and wellness through design through cross-disciplinary dialogue. Meets every other 3rd Wednesday at 5:30 pm at the AIABaltimore Gallery.

Historic Resources Committee (HRC)

Co-Chairs:
Andrea Drake, AIA
Marks, Thomas Architects
andread@marks-thomas.com 

Dave Ditman
Retired teacher, HoCo Public Schools
dvditman@verizon.net

The Historic Resources Committee organizes events that promote the knowledge and appreciation of the restoration and adaptive use of Baltimore’s historic buildings and neighborhoods.

Lecture Series

Chair:
Katherine Lepage, AIA
Ziger/Snead Architects
klepage@zigersnead.com

Social Media: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Vimeo

Brings provocative and topical architectural speakers to the Baltimore community. Meets periodically.

Practice Management

Chair:
Anthony Gill, AIA
MCA | Architecture
agill@mca.design

The AIABaltimore Practice Management Committee seeks to encourage open discourse among AIABaltimore architects, allied members, and other professional organizations to advance member understanding of practice-related issues including; business, ethics, construction law, taxes, human resources, marketing, and technology. Responsibilities of the AIA Practice Management Committee include delivering 3-4 educational seminars throughout the year for continuing education credit. Each seminar aims to present a different aspect of operating an architectural practice. In addition, the Practice Management Committee assists in organizing the annual AIA/BAF holiday party and Presidents meeting.

Additional resources can be found on the AIA National Practice Management Knowledge Community (PMKC) website:

https://network.aia.org/practicemanagement/home

Meets every 3rd Tuesdayat 8:30 am at AIABaltimore Board Room.

Property and Facilities

Chair:
Mark Mobley, AIA
Mark Mobley Architecture
mark@mmarchitecture.com

Maintains and improves the chapter headquarters’ physical facilities.

Urban Design

Co-Chairs:
Matthew Fitzsimmons, AIA
Hord Coplan Macht, Inc.
mfitzsimmons@hcm2.com

Britton Flynn, AIA
Gaudreau Inc.
barrobrit@gmail.com

Meets every 4th Wednesday at 6 pm.  Rotating meeting location, contact either Matthew or Britton for monthly location.

AIABaltimore Staff

Kathleen Lane, Assoc. AIA
Executive Director
klane@aiabalt.com
410.625.2585 x101

Nathan Dennies
Operations and Communications Associate
ndennies@aiabalt.com
410.625.2585 x102

Ally Lancaster
Membership & Sponsorship Associate
alancaster@aiabalt.com
410.625.2585 x103

A. Zevi Thomas, Assoc. AIA
Programs and Outreach Coordinator
zthomas@aiabalt.com
410.625.2585 x104

See the Board of Directors

Review the AIABaltimore Antitrust Compliance Guidelines

Comments are closed