[ARCHIVE] 2014 AIABaltimore Design Awards

2014 Award Winners

  • Commercial/Industrial Design Award: 100 Light St. (Design Collective, Inc.). Photo credit: Patrick Ross Photography

Client of the Year

  • Baltimore City Public Schools

Community Architect of the Year

  • Martina Reilly, AIA

Contractor of the Year

  • Southway Builders

Allied Member of the Year

  • Morris Murray (Bosley Companies)

Good Design = Good Business Award

  • Baltimore Design School (Ziger/Snead Architects)
  • Henderson Hopkins School (Rogers Partners)

Future Architects Resources (FAR) Undergraduate Scholarship Award

  • Pauline Sipin (Morgan State University School of Architecture + Planning)
  • Honorable Mentions
    • Christian Cueva (Morgan State University School of Architecture + Planning)
    • Christine Doherty (Morgan State University School of Architecture + Planning)

Future Architects Resources (FAR) Graduate Scholarship Award

  • Paul Lancaster (Morgan State University School of Architecture + Planning)
  • Honorable Mention
    • Khashayar Shahkolahy (Morgan State University School of Architecture + Planning)

Baltimore Architecture Foundation/AIABaltimore Fellows Leadership Award

  • Marvin Oduro


Sean Slattery, AIA, LEED AP, el dorado inc.

sean photo

Sean Slattery, AIA, is a Senior Associate with el dorado inc, an architecture and fabrication firm in Kansas City, Missouri. Since joining the firm in 2003, he has played a key role in the design and execution of several AIA award-winning projects. El dorado utilizes a collaborative approach to define and solve architectural problems of all scales. Their work and public art collaborations have been featured in Architectural Record, Architecture, Metropolis, Dwell, ID, The New York Times, and other regional and national publications. In 2008, el dorado was featured in the Emerging Voices lecture and competition series by the Architectural League of New York. Sean is also active in the Kansas City Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, previously serving on the Board from 2008 through 2009, and co-chairing the AIA Kansas City Design Awards in 2007.

Jay Tomlinson, FAIA, Helix Architecture + Design


Jay Tomlinson, AIA, is a founder of Kansas City-based Helix Architecture + Design and his design work has been nationally recognized. He has led many new construction and renovation projects, including the adaptive reuse of the historic Lowe & Campbell building in downtown Kansas City and the renovation of the historic Vitagraph Building, headquarters of the Kansas City Symphony. Several of his projects combine LEED-certification with federal and state historic tax credits. Jay earned his Bachelor of Science degree in environmental design and a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Kansas. He was elevated to the College of Fellows in the American Institute of Architects in 2013. Jay has also served as president and board member of the Charlotte Street Foundation and president of the Friends of Art of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

Laura Lesniewski AIA, LEED AP BD+C, BNIM


Laura Lesniewski, AIA is a principal at BNIM in Kansas City with 20 years of experience in architecture. She is dedicated to pursuing the highest levels of sustainability to build thriving communities. Laura led the design team efforts on the Omega Center for Sustainable Living (first LEED Platinum and Living Building certified) and contributed to the REGEN tool, created with the USGBC in its explorations on the next generation of sustainability. Her recent projects include a zero carbon community redevelopment in Montreal, Quebec and a zero carbon rural development in upstate New York. Laura has also worked on several disaster recovery efforts as part of the BNIM planning team. Laura is the president of AIA-Kansas City this year. She is a recognized resource for emerging technologies and philosophies in the design and construction industry. She has spoken nationally on explorations in regenerative design, building information modeling and lean thinking. She is a graduate of MIT and U.C. Berkeley, and has lectured at regional universities. Laura co-authored FLOW: In Pursuit of a Living Building with Bob Berkebile and Steve McDowell.

Excellence in Design Awards Sponsors


AIABaltimore Design Awards Celebration

  • Ken and Bernadette Rock, Mueller Associates
    Ken and Bernadette Rock, Mueller Associates

Click Here to view all AIABaltimore Excellence in Design Awards photos (images courtesy Jonathan Williams).

Excellence in Design Awards Traveling Exhibit

Schedules and implements traveling exhibit of Design Award winners and entries.



Posts not found

About AIABaltimore

We are third oldest chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and have over 1,100 members creating and advocating for great, sustainable design in Charm City!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed